Writing

While running today, my mind began to drift and I started thinking about this blog and how much I have enjoyed doing it. At first, I didn’t know whether I would write all that much, but for something that started out as just something to do to pass the time, I find that I look forward to writing and only hope that i have something interest to write in that given day. As a print journalism major from the ever growing Quinnipiac University, I never really enjoyed journalism. I liked the writing aspect of it, but hated the research and the interviews. I found that i had trouble asking the right questions and would always have to go back and ask them. I dreaded the research and interviews. I would put them off for as long as possible. But the writing on the other hand, I enjoyed. I could pump out a 5,000 word article in no time. I would never read over my work, as I always figured I would out think myself if I read over my drafts, plus I was lazy.

I had this Writing for Magazines class my senior year and we had basically four big articles to write, the first three were 2,500 words and the last one was 5,000 words. Now, the professor, always wanted rough drafts from people, but it obviously wasn’t mandatory. I found that probably everyone in the class would hand in a rough draft. As they were handing in the rough draft, I hadn’t even started my research. When it came time to hand in the final copy, I always met my deadline. When I got the articles back and saw that I had an A-, I couldn’t believe it. Here I was, essentially doing all of my work, including the interview, research and writing in about two days and everyone in the class had been working on theirs for two weeks.

I ended up getting an A- in the class and was very pleased with this, as I didn’t try nearly as hard as everyone else did. Looking back, while I got a good grade, I probably didn’t allow myself to grow nearly as much as I could have as a writer. If I had handed in a rough draft, I could’ve learned from my mistakes and become a much better writer. Just really a thought I had.

Anyway, getting  back to where I started, I’ve really enjoyed writing this blog and I hope it is something I will continue throughout my service. I will update the blog every chance I get, not sure how often that will be. So, I thank you all for reading.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment