Archive

Archive for 22/04/2010

What’s for Chow at Casa del הרבי (Herbie)

Just thought I’d show my “trilingual” skills off for all of you. Ha Ha what a joke. Anyway, on the dinner menu for tonight, Michelle is cooking chicken with pineapple and salsa. I’ve never had that combination before, but hell, I like chicken, I like pineapple, and I like salsa, so it’s gotta be tasty, right? On the side we are having rice and some vegetables. I’m looking forward to it, especially since I don’t need to cook. Oh yeah, Michelle is quite the baker and she made this awesomely delicious apple cake the other day, so with her permission, I will post the recipe and a picture of the cake. Sorry that’s it for now….

The Food Guy and friends Josh Zeid and Ben "Bore" Orell munching on some succulent Louis burgers

Actually, I just found these pictures. It’s of myself and a few of my friends dining late night at Louis Lunch in New Haven after a night of boozing. If you don’t know what Louis is, then I suggest you get there because it’s the best burger in the world. Served on white toast with cheese whiz, tomato, and onion, no ketchup because it’s not needed.

Joshua Scolnic also recommends the potato salad to go along with the scrumptious burger. Michael "Slam" Battema giggles in the background with excitement at the thought of his burger and potato salad

As you can see in the picture on the right, Bore likes to look his food straight in the eye and show it who’s boss before he devours it, while The Food Guy just goes right for it. Doesn’t that make you hungry? On the Left, Josh Scolnic enjoys his potato salad with a big smile and a full belly.  These are also all members of the 2004 Green Team. Missing are Jonathan Swirsky, Jake Stern, and Zach “Dad” Reiner. So clearly if a championship team eats at Louis Lunch, it is the place to go.

On another note, that hat that I’m wearing in the picture, the red throwback Cincinnati Reds Cap is still missing so if anyone finds it or has an clues as to its whereabouts, please contact me.

Categories: The Food Guy

13 Days to Go

In 13 days I will be in the army. Not too much to report today. I went and opened a bank account with Bank Leumi in Tel-Aviv. it took about an hour and a half, but at least that’s now out of the way. The next thing I will do is get a cell phone, and I’ll probably do that next week. I will do some studying tonight and work out some as well. A while back I made some notecards with about 150 or so verbs. Verbs I figured were pretty basic and if I learned them then I could communicate at a very simple level. While I know some, I have a lot more to learn so I figure if I can learn roughly 15 of them a night until I leave, then I will be at a much better place with my hebrew. I only have the words conjugated in English and the Infinitive form, but you have to start from somewhere. This kind of brings me back to my days of exams during high school and college where I would wait until the very last minute to study and then would have to cram for the exams. I had mixed results with it, and it never seemed to work for my spanish exams in high school, but anything I can pick up in these last days can only help at this point.

I almost forgot, I also went to the shook today, which is like a flea market for those who don’t know, and I got some shower sandals and some socks for the army. I got five pairs of high white socks, so they will be comfortable. Other than that stuff, I’m told I will need a watch at some point. I was thinking a digital Batman watch. After all, Batman is a HUMAN superhero, unlike Superman and those other dudes. I think I have enough boxers, but I also hear going “commando” as they call it, is a good one to go. I’ll try that one out at some point and report back and let everyone know. I know, I know, too much information. Not sure what else I’ll need. Should probably find out soon, but for the most part they give you most of what I’ll need.

Categories: Army, Other stuff