Archive

Archive for 20/04/2010

Faxed in Letters

The Food Guy posing with a handsome camel

In terms of the army today, I faxed letters to the army stating that I want/need to know when my draft date is and that I want to get into the Michveh Alon (Army Ulpan) in August. If I don’t get into that ulpan than I have no clue what will happen because by going through Mahal, the cutoff age is 24 years old, which I will be October 28 (for those of you who want to get me a present). After the August ulpan, I don’t think there’s another ulpan until the winter. So who knows what will happen. Hopefully it won’t come down to that and it will all get handled relatively soon. I’m also looking into hebrew classes and will make some calls tomorrow in regards to that and hope to be in a class by the end of the month or beginning of May. On that note, I’m taking the rest of the night off. Happy Independence Day! And for you stoners out there, Happy 420! Try not to get caught.

Categories: Army

The Food Guy’s Chow

So the beach turned out to be rather relaxing. A bunch of military planes and helicopters had a show in honor of Israel’s Independence Day, which is today. It was pretty cool. It was a real nice day and the sun was hot. I got some color for those of you who care, and I know you all do. Except I got this really weird burn line which always seems to happen.

Anyway, regarding dinner. The stuffed peppers turned out pretty good. I diced up some onion and mixed it in with the meat. I also assed some garlic powder, cumin, oregano, salt, pepper, curry and something I don’t know what it is and bread crumbs. I cooked it in yellow peppers and put some tomato sauce on it. I was rather pleased as I wasn’t sure how it would turn out. Next time, though I will use a little less curry and probably some more sauce to keep the meat more moist. I also may have cooked the peppers too long, but all in all it turned out rather well. It was a pretty good Independence Day.

Categories: The Food Guy

The Food Guy…..Returns?!?

As some of you may know, most of the blogging world knows me as The Food Guy from my previous blog. I want to spice up the blog a little bit, and while I will talk about what’s going on with the army, I also plan to go back to what I am best at, and perhaps I am best as The Food Guy. It won’t be anything special, just what I plan to cook or what I’ve eaten that is interesting. If I go to a place worth writing about then I will tell you all about and whether it’s Food Guy worthy.

Not much to report today. I’m going to go to the beach with Michelle, have a few brews and maybe get some color, whether that is red or tan, nobody knows. Should be a relaxing little day. Oh to be unemployed. I’m still considering moving to Hawaii after the army and becoming a surf bum. I would just live in a shack and fish and surf, now that sounds pretty enjoyable, doesn’t it? I don’t know how to surf, but I could learn and I don’t like fish, but I always felt that if you catch something on your own then it has to be pretty satisfying to eat.

Sorry for getting a little of tangent there. When Michelle and I return from the beach with our sexy tans, or Michelle’s sexy tan and my burnt self, I will cook dinner. On the menu tonight is stuffed peppers. I will stuff them with ground beef and cooked them with tomato sauce on top. I’ve never done it before, but it should be tasty. Not sure what I’ll have on the side, maybe some mashed potatoes. I’ll let everyone know. Okay, that’s it for me. I’ll report back later on how the food turned out. Enjoy the day everyone.

Categories: The Food Guy