Archive

Archive for 19/04/2010

What Can Happen Next?

Just when I didn’t think things could get worse, they have. I talked to Aaron today and he told me that apparently there has been another set back. In February I changed my address to Tel-Aviv, but since I did that it has screwed up me getting my draft date. The reason for this is because it takes the army about four months to transfer my file to the office in Tel-Aviv, so now I have to write the army a letter so I will still be able to go in August. If I can’t get this changed, then I may not be going into the army until December or so. I also have to write the army a letter requesting my draft date, which will also make it easier for me to get my profile changed.

Once I have my draft date and am officially in the army, it is easier to get things like my profile changed. So according to Aaron, I need to concentrate on pressing the army for my draft date and then if that works out, hopefully my profile will be changed as well due to my appeal. While it has gotten somewhat humorous as to everything that has happened to me, I feel a little more confident that my profile will be changed, but now I just need to get my draft date and there is no way to know if this will be easy to get done or not. All I can do is go through the motions and hopefully everything will fall into place.

Categories: Army

Random Rambling

Bokar Tov,

It’s about 5:45 a.m. here in the Holy Land. I couldn’t sleep. I saw that the Yankees pulled out another win, seems like they’re playing some real good ball these days, which is always good to see. Since I want be going into the army in May, I’m thinking about looking into a way to watch and/or listen to the games online. At least the day games, which will be on at a reasonable hour for me to watch.

Not sure what I have planned for today, might go to the beach if it’s nice out. Not sure what I should eat for dinner either. I’m rather tired of chicken and pasta. Maybe burrito night? Meatballs? Try and find some steaks? We’ll see I suppose.

Not sure why, but as I laid in bed, what is now last night (even though most of you on the East Coast probably are still awake), I began to reminisce about my high school days. In particular, the Recreational Basketball League I played in at the JCC with a bunch of my friends. It was a great time. A league for guys who didn’t play high school basketball, but a league in which, I like to think, the players played with more passion and pride than most high school basketball teams. We were “The Green Team.” It was a league that consisted of 8 teams. It was taken very seriously. There were numerous ejections, and there is one time in particular that I remember, when my friend Jon decided he didn’t like a call and he took the ball and through it all the way across the court at the opposite hoop. No fooling around in this league. Anyway, we only won one game in the regular season, but all 8 teams made the playoffs. It was in that first round game, that magic happened.

We were up against “The Purple Team,” the number 1 seed and we were at, what would seem a mismatch, as we only had 5 players (usually had 8 players) and they had a player who was huge, probably on steroids. We went into the game with a strategy, the Princeton offense (basically hold onto the ball as much as we could and not allow the other team to get many possessions). However, as the game progressed something happened, we couldn’t miss a damn shot. Everything went in the hoop. I’m not exaggerating, I don’t think we missed more than 5 shots all game. in two 20 minutes halves, running time, we scored 80 points. Yes, 80 points. That’s unheard of. The guy who ran the league said it was the best game he’s ever seen, and know what, I believe him. I still can’t believe it. We won by about 40 points with just five guys. It was the kind of stuff that legends are made out of. We would then cruise through the next two rounds to win the championship. A story, that is on the level of “Hoosiers” (if you haven’t heard the story or seen the movie then go rent it. It’s about a small Indiana high school basketball team). To be honest though, The Green Team story is a better one. A tale of normal guys, overcoming the odds to kick some ass. To take a line from my little league coach, it was about “heart, soul, and effort.”

That is my random rambling. I hope you enjoyed it.