Archive

Archive for 03/07/2010

Hi Zane

Zane is a loyal reader and fellow soldier in Mikveh Alon and was upset that he has not been mentioned in the Blog. Well Zane, Hello. He is from New Zealand and believes that Sharks and Dolphins are the same animal….I will say no more

Categories: Other stuff

Doctor

On Thursday the army sent me to a doctor, so I could get my profile changed. I need at least a 72 to do combat and am currently at a 64. Around 7 a.m. I had to go meet with the מ”מ or Officer and she gave me some forms and told me where to go. I had to wait for a bus outside of the base for about an hour and then take a bus to the bus station. When I arrived at the bus station I called my friend Doc, who wasn’t doing anything, so he came and drove me to the hospital to see the doctor.

I got the the doctor around 9:45 a.m. or so. I waited in the wrong area at first so I wasted about an hour, but I was in no rush as we weren’t doing anything back on base. I finally figured out where I had to go and I had to take a number. It went pretty quickly and I got to go see the doctor.

She spoke perfect English and was a very nice woman. I told her about my problem, why I’m in Israel, and she understood completely. She didn’t understand why I had a 64, so she took out this “law book” that states what someone’s profile should be if they have a certain problem. She got to my section and showed me that, basically, the best I could do was a 72. I wanted an 82, so I could do a unit called Nahal נחל, but sometimes life isn’t fair I suppose. She recommended that I get my profile raised to a 72 and now I have to hand that in and hopefully it will get changed. However, nothing is official as of now so I’ll just have to wait and see. Hopefully this will get taken care of rather quickly.

A 72 allows me to do tanks or artillery, and there are different jobs within those units. If everything passes and my profile is raised, I will do tanks. The unit is called Shiryion. I will follow in my friend Dotan’s footsteps, as he just finished his service in Shiryion.

Categories: Army