Home > Army > Week Following Shirion

Week Following Shirion

Lets see, where did I leave off? Oh yeah, so I took a bus to the Bakom and got there around 7:45 a.m. Naturally, the Bakom doesn’t really open until 8 or 8:30 a.m. so I had to sit around and wait to find out what was next for me. Lets just say, I sat and watched two movies before I even talked to anyone. One of my commanders from Shirion had come to the Bakom because there were a few guys who needed to see a doctor and whatnot, so I guess he was there to supervise or something along those lines.

I remember sitting and watching that first movie and just thinking what the hell am I doing here? I’m tired. I’ve had enough. At about 11:30, I walked over to my former commander and told him that I was leaving. I had been sitting there almost four hours and nothing was happening. I live about 15 minutes from the Bakom, so when they are ready to see me they can give me a call. I’m done waiting on these incompetent people. He tells me that I can’t leave and that I just need to have patience. They were having trouble with their computers.

Finally, at about 12:30 in the afternoon, My name is called and I have to go up to this window. They give me a sheet of paper and tell me I have to go somewhere else. I sat around for hours, just to find out I had to go somewhere else. I can’t say I was all that surprised. After all, I’ve been dealing with this army since December or so.

I ask where I have to go, and no one knows where the office is. It’s on the base, but the base is huge. My meeting is at 2 p.m., and I asked a few soldiers and they told me to take a bus. I get to the area I need to be and just figure that I will ask someone where I need to go. Lets just say I walked around for over and hour and a half, asking people, and no one knew where to go. I was clearly having a blast. Finally, I find the building. I go inside, ask where to go and I, by some miracle, find the office.

I end up sitting down with an officer, who is probably my age, or younger, from Texas. I tell him my story in Hebrew, but by this point, I’m tired of explaining myself in Hebrew. I’m sick of the army, I’ve had enough, let’s just get this over with and part ways. I tell this officer, that I came here to fight, not sit behind a desk. I left home. No family in Israel. Blah Blah. You’ve all heard the same story a million times. I go on to tell him, that I want to do Nahal and that there’s no reason I shouldn’t be able to, and that if I can’t, I’m done and I want to opt out of my contract. Since I’m a volunteer and not a citizen, I can do this.

He explains to me that opting out won’t be easy. it could take a month. The best I may get is a shortened service, which would’ve been three more months, because I’m 23, and at certain ages you only need to serve six months. He tries to sell me on this unit Karakal, which is part of Nahal, but it isn’t Nahal. Karakal is a unit where men and women serve side by side, and sit on the Egyptian border basically catching drug smugglers. I say no. I didn’t come here to catch drug smugglers. Also, you can say what you want about me, but here on my personal thoughts on the unit: While you get the same level of basic training as all of the other infantry units, I’m sorry, call me sexist, but I didn’t sign up to serve with women. Also, Karakal seems to be the “orgy” of the Israeli Army. Put 18 year old men and women together and what do you think goes on? I’ve already done the whole college thing, I don’t need to go back and experience the same nonsense. While, in my opinion, Karakal is very good for women, because it allows them to go see action and get good training, I feel like the guys who do it, are just looking to hook up with all these girls. This is all MY OPINION by the way and my reasoning for not wanting to do it. Also, I talked to a number of people and they all told me not to do it.

Basically, I’m sitting there and talking to the officer who is trying real hard to get me to go to Karakal, because, essentially, it is part of Nahal and he works in the Nahal office, so of course he is going to try to get me to go there. I tell him I need a few days to think about Karakal. He gave me the weekend, because the Karakal draft was that Monday, so they needed a decision.

That was my first of about five meetings with this guy for the next week. Check back later to find out what happened next… Suspense? Not so much.

Categories: Army
  1. doogmanit
    28/08/2010 at 19:56

    dude the time they tell u to go to the bakum isnt when u should be there.

    I used to get there heaps early only to experience the same thing. Its basically their way to make sure your there when they are ready. Next time rock up whenever, i did that A few times.

    I cant wait for you to be sent where u want to be, you eill appreciate and enjoy it more then anyone

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

